Skip to content

Graham Victorious in Republican Senate Primary

June 11, 2008

Graham Victorious in Republican Senate Primary

COLUMBIA, SOUTH CAROLINA – U.S. Senator Lindsey Graham made the following statement tonight on his victory in the South Carolina Republican Primary for the United States Senate:

“I am honored and humbled to receive the nomination of my party for the United States Senate.  After tonight, I think it’s fair to say my volunteers and supporters comprise the best political organization in South Carolina.  They made tens of thousands of calls, distributed thousands of yard signs and gave their time and money to our campaign.  I am blessed to have them on my team and truly appreciate their support.

“Our win tonight is a victory for mainstream, traditional conservatism – conservatism with a smile.  It is a statement by the voters they will reward candidates who take on the tough issues and do the hard things.  Furthermore, our victory is an affirmation that seeking principled compromise on important issues is not only respected and rewarded, it is the lifeblood of democracy.  President Reagan embraced this model of governing – gradually moving the conservative ball forward through principled compromise when necessary – and so do I.  It is an example we should all continue to follow.

“Now we set our sights on the November General Election.  It is one of the most important elections we have ever faced, both here in South Carolina and across the nation.  When it comes to the presidential campaign, I expect to play a leading role in Senator McCain’s campaign for the White House.  I know his election as our nation’s 44th President will strengthen our economy and ensure a positive outcome in the global War on Terror.  Here at home, I will continue working to maintain and expand our Republican majorities in the state legislature.

“As the Republican nominee in the November election, I will aggressively seek the support of Republicans, Independents and Democrats believing that mainstream conservatism will rally our state around a common purpose.  I will continue to maintain my independent mindset and seek common ground on the great challenges of our time.  If South Carolinians honor me with re-election in November, I will have as my goal to ensure those who deal with me, through my conduct and bearing, see the best of who we are in South Carolina – a state full of Smiling Faces and Beautiful Places.”

######

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

