Skip to content

Rep. Nikki Haley: Your Help is Needed

November 25, 2008

Nikki Haley for Statehouse District 87

The Haley E-Newsletter – Your Help is Needed

Dear Friends,

I know the campaign just finished up and that many of you were instrumental in our historic victory, and I sincerely appreciate all that you have done for me and for our fight in Columbia.

But, unfortunately our work is far from over.

Four years ago, I promised you I would always stand up for you and for the ideals in which we believe. One of those ideals was the notion that the public had a right to know where their individual legislators stood on the issues. Unfortunately, our state ranks last in the nation in recorded voting. And that may go a long way as to explaining why we have seen a 41% increase in spending over the last three years.

This year, after watching some members attempt to give themselves a benefit increase on another anonymous voice vote, I decided it was time to do something. I decided to take a stand for transparency in government.

With the support of numerous House members, Senate President Glenn McConnell, Gov. Mark Sanford, Lt. Governor Andre Bauer, and many others, I have spent the past few months working on a bill that would require lawmakers to cast their votes “on the record.”

It wasn’t a surprise that my work on this bill has encountered stiff opposition from the Speaker and other members of the House GOP leadership.

Most recently, a change to our House rules was proposed by House leadership to grant the Speaker the authority to select committee chairmen, and coincidentally prohibit me from serving as the Chairman of the House Labor, Commerce and Industry (LCI) committee – something I was warned would happen if I pursued this legislation.

All along, the message from leadership was crystal clear – “stop pushing this bill, or else.”

Well, I didn’t stop. Nor am I going to stop now.

Why not? Because in addition to the promise I made myself to always stand up for what I believe in, I know that this battle has absolutely nothing to do with me – and everything to do with a State House culture whose ringleaders don’t want you to know how they conduct your business and spend
your money.

So, why am I telling you all this? Because I need your help.

This is a fight we can win, but we need everyone involved. If you’d be willing to help me take a stand for a government that serves the citizens it represents – instead of serving selfish interests – respond back to this email today, and we will get you the tools you need to get involved and to make a difference.

I sincerely appreciate your support and all that you have done and continue to do for me.

My Very Best,

Nikki Haley

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

