Skip to content

Letter to the Editor from Tom Siler, the Chapter President of the Palmetto Chapter of JDRF

January 29, 2009

To Whom It May Concern:

In his Inaugural Address, President Barack Obama told us that chief among his objectives is to “restore science to its rightful place, and wield technology’s wonders to raise health care’s quality and lower its cost.”

As the President of the Palmetto Chapter of the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, I couldn’t be more thrilled, and eagerly anticipate the new administration moving forward to explore areas of science that will lead to cures for diseases such as type 1 diabetes (also known as juvenile diabetes).

Type 1 diabetes strikes more than 30,000 Americans each year, more than half of them kids. Until a cure is found, people with type 1 must test their blood sugar and inject themselves with insulin (or use a pump) multiple times each day, every day of their lives. Insulin is not a cure for type 1, and it doesn’t prevent complications like blindness, kidney disease, heart disease, or nerve damage. Research to find a cure is the only course of action – a course that can only be accelerated by an Administration committed to using science to raise the quality and affordability of health care.

The mission of JDRF is to support research leading to a cure for type 1 diabetes and its complications. Since 1970, JDRF has spent $1.3 billion to uncover ways to fund science to reverse the immune system attack that causes diabetes, restore normal blood sugars, prevent or reverse the devastating complications the disease can cause, and – until a cure is found – help people better control their diabetes, lead longer lives, and lower the risk of complications.

The new President said, “There is work to be done.” On behalf of the JDRF community, we hope that much of that work is focused on using science to bring cures for disease and a better life for Americans. We look forward to a time when diabetes no longer threatens the lives of millions of Americans – and costs literally hundreds of billions of dollars in health care expenses each and every year. And we’re ready to work hand-in-hand with the administration to speed the pace of research leading to a cure.

Sincerely,

Tom Siler
Chapter President
Palmetto Chapter
Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 6:26 pm

    I have been a type 1 diabetic for nearly 54 years. No new changes in care have I missed. I have had an insulin pump for about 15 years and enjoyed the 3 pump groups we were part of in Orlando. (We moved here from there about 2 years ago.) I have met 2 people in this area with pumps. I have not found any pump sharing group in this area. Are there any such groups of which you or your staff may know? I just learned of your organization when I read W. Allen Bridgers’, Recruitment Leader, editorial in the 7/29/09 DARLINGTON NEWS AND PRESS, about Sonia Sotomayor’s nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court. We can be an interesting group. My husband and I have been ballroom dance instructors for about 30 years and I have made a variety of other less-then-ordinary contributions to life in this world. I would be happy to speak with or to any persons interested in learning about the caretaking advantages of the insulin pump. I developed diabetes at age 15 and have worked with new and care-resistant teen-agers a great deal. Are most of your staff members diabetic or have diabetic children? C.Black, 843-393-2465

  2. July 29, 2009 6:30 pm

    I typed a comment in the red box a few minutes ago. Now your email system says I did not. I hope you received the first comment.

  3. Carolyn Black permalink
    July 29, 2009 6:46 pm

    I have been a type 1 diabetic for nearly 54 years. No new changes in care have I missed. I have had an insulin pump for about 15 years and enjoyed the 3 pump groups we were part of in Orlando. (We moved here from there about 2 years ago.) I have met 2 people in this area with pumps. I have not found any pump sharing group in this area. Are there any such groups of which you or your staff may know? I just learned of your organization when I read W. Allen Bridgers’, Recruitment Leader, editorial in the 7/29/09 DARLINGTON NEWS AND PRESS, about Sonia Sotomayor’s nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court. We can be an interesting group. My husband and I have been ballroom dance instructors for about 30 years and I have made a variety of other less-then-ordinary contributions to life in this world. I would be happy to speak with or to any persons interested in learning about the caretaking advantages of the insulin pump. I developed diabetes at age 15 and have worked with new and care-resistant teen-agers a great deal. Are most of your staff members diabetic or have diabetic children? C.Black, 843-393-2465

Leave a Reply

