Skip to content

It is hard to believe that almost a year has past since I announced as a candidate for the office of Chairman of the Lexington County Republican Party.

April 3, 2009

Friday April 3, 2009

Dear friends,

It is hard to believe that almost a year has past since I announced as a candidate for the office of Chairman of the Lexington County Republican Party. A lot has changed in the world since that day in March of 2008. But like you, what has not changed is my dedication to the conservative cause that unites us.

Growing up in Lexington County I learned the value of hard work from my father and a sense of compassion from my mother. They taught me that true character is what you do when you are not being watched. From the pews of Red Bank Baptist Church I found my faith growing and desire to serve was born.

My first taste of politics came while helping my dad place signs for Floyd Spence in the early 1970’s. It wasn’t long before I composed my first letter to President Nixon; the reply letter from the White House is still one of the most cherished childhood keepsakes.

During the past year the most common question I have been asked deals with the future of the Lexington County Republican Party. While I have laid out a plan of action in previous letters, I feel the future of our Party can best be served when we can put aside our individual egos and agendas and follow the servant leadership teachings of the Bible.

I have listened as you have expressed concern over quality of life issues that confront us in ever increasing numbers. I believe that we must answer these concerns by being more active in the creation of solutions rather than the search for blame.

It is my pledge to each of you to make the Lexington County Republican Party a place where everyone has a role in the future of the party. The future of this party is in your hands, I ask you once again for you prayerful consideration and your vote. I look forward to seeing you at the convention on Saturday. If you have any questions, please call me at 803-479-6477. Until then, I remain;

Sincerely,

Robert Schaeffer

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

