Skip to content

South Carolina Young Republicans Start Anew

June 2, 2009


J. Matthew Wills


South Carolina Federation

of Young Republicans

(843) 467-9572

For Immediate Release:

South Carolina Young Republicans Start Anew

(Columbia, SC – May 30, 2009) The South Carolina Federation of Young Republicans held their biennial Convention electing new officers to the executive committee.

The newly elected Executive Committee is now chaired by former South Carolina Young Republican Pee Dee Regional Vice Chairwoman, Britton Pruett. She assumed the Chairmanship from Patrick Haddon by acclimation. Additionally, Mr. Haddon is also the newly elected Greenville County Republican Party Chairman and First Vice Chair of the SCGOP.

Upstate Young Republican Paul Howell, a staffer with U.S. Congressman Bob Inglis will continue to fill the position of Vice Chairman.

Lexington Young Republican and candidate for Southern Director of the National Federation of Young Republicans, Joshua Gross was elected to the position of South Carolina Federation of Young Republicans National Committeeman.

Grand Strand Young Republicans Heather Ammons, Robin Quinn and J. Matthew Wills complete the Executive Committee. The new South Carolina Federation of Young Republicans National Committeewoman, Heather Ammons, who also holds the positions of: Chief of Staff for State Representative Alan Clemmons, Chairwoman of the Grand Strand Young Republicans, and Horry County Republican Party State Executive Committeeperson was elected. New State Treasurer Robin Quinn and new State Secretary J. Matthew Wills are both members of the Grand Strand Young Republican Executive Board.

Distinguished guests speaking to the convention delegates were as follows: South Carolina Republican Party Chairwoman Karen Floyd, Lt. Governor Andre Bauer, South Carolina Attorney General Henry McMaster; gubernatorial candidates U.S. Congressman Gresham Barrett, State Senator Larry Grooms and State Representative Nikki Haley were all present; candidates for Lt. Governor Colonel Bill Connor and Florence County Councilman Ken Ard also addressed the convention delegates.

Three new SCFYR Clubs were chartered bringing the club number within the state organization to ten. These newly chartered clubs are Oconee/Pickens, Southern Carolina and Tri-County which include, York, Lancaster and Chester counties.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: