Skip to content

EXOTICA INTERNATIONAL, INC. ANNOUNCES RETIREMENT

April 17, 2008

EXOTICA INTERNATIONAL, INC. ANNOUNCES RETIREMENT

After 32 Years, High-end Fashion Boutique to Close

For Immediate Release                                                               Contact: Nikki Haley
Wednesday, April 16, 2008                                                        803-926-5656

COLUMBIA, SC – After thirty-two years of offering upscale fashion to customers from across the country, Exotica International, Inc. will close its doors on May 31, 2008. The founders and owners, Dr. Ajit S. and Mrs. Raj K. Randhawa are retiring after a brilliant run in the upscale fashion industry.

The Randhawa’s story is that of the American dream accomplished. Raj came from India with a Law Degree from Delhi University. She earned her Masters in Education and taught in the Bamberg public school system for seven years. In 1969, after Ajit earned his Ph.D from the University of British Columbia, the family moved to South Carolina. Ajit joined Voorhees College as the professor of Biology and taught for 29 years and retired as Chairman of the Division of Natural Sciences, Math and Computer Sciences in 1998.

In 1976, Raj started Exotica International, Inc. as a unique gift boutique housing a selection from many countries around the world. Apparel was added in 1980 upon the company’s first expansion. After two previous expansions, the company relocated in Columbia to a beautiful 10,000 square foot facility on Highway 378.

Exotica quickly earned a “must shop” reputation and attracted customers from as far away as California. One of the oldest family-owned businesses in the Midlands, Exotica has offered its customers unrivaled service. Long celebrated for its over-the-top commitment to its clients, the company provided its fashion savvy customers with unique styles and beautifully tailored quality attire to stay ahead of the competition.

In addition to providing exquisite customer service and quality products, Exotica made generous contributions to many organizations and communities in times of need. Exotica provided financial support for medical research in the area of cancer and HIV/AIDS, local organizations within their community, and during national tragedies like Hurricane Hugo and 9/11.

For their business success and commitment to community service, the Randhawas have earned numerous awards and accolades. Mrs. Randhawa was honored for her business contributions and awarded as a runner up for the 2002 S.C. Business Woman of the year. Dr. Randhawa also received the “Governor’s Distinguished Professor Award” from Governor Carroll Campbell.

Ultimately three generations of the Randhawa’s worked at Exotica and each gave back to the community through Exotica. The Randhawa’s have four children, a son-in-law, Michael Haley, who was the Men’s wear manager at Exotica and a daughter-in-law, Sonya Randhawa, who is the current Ladies Fine Wear Assistant Manager and Alyssa Randhawa, one of six grandchildren who currently serves as a wardrobe consultant.

###

96 Comments leave one →
  1. gmcmohankrishan permalink
    May 27, 2010 6:53 am

    I KNOW THE COMPLETE SUCESS STORY

  2. Anonymous permalink
    April 29, 2020 11:04 pm

    Daughter Nikki is desperate for a new career, “I wanna be governor!”

  3. Dotard Trump permalink
    April 29, 2020 11:06 pm

    “If a clown can be elected president, so can I!”

  4. Nikki Haley permalink
    April 29, 2020 11:08 pm

    You weren’t supposed to use my nickname for you, Donny!

    • Dotard Trump permalink
      April 29, 2020 11:20 pm

      You will always be my skinny hen, Nikki.

  5. Dotard Trump permalink
    May 16, 2020 9:35 pm

    Nikki… Cock-a-doodle-do!

  6. Nikki Haley permalink
    May 16, 2020 9:37 pm

    Cluck, cluck, cluck, cluck…

  7. Nikky Haley permalink
    June 6, 2020 1:16 am

    DT: “Quack, qu-quack, qua-qua-quack?” That means: Now I’m your lucky duck.

  8. Dotard Trump permalink
    June 19, 2020 5:44 pm

    ROAR! I’m a tiger, not a pussy, and I’m gonna eat you alive Lil Ducky!

  9. Anonymous permalink
    June 19, 2020 5:45 pm

    I’ve never heard of quackhouse.com.

  10. Nikki Haley permalink
    September 14, 2020 2:32 pm

    DT: You’re still my dotard cutie, Mr. Pres… Why don’t you call me?

  11. September 22, 2020 10:17 am

    Meow… I wanna vacation… Qu-qu-qu-aaaaaaaaaaaaaack qua-qua-uack? Honeymoon in Leningrad (aka Petrograd), Lil Ducky?

  12. Nikki Haley permalink
    October 9, 2020 11:50 pm

    Listen Darling Donnie Dotard, some cubbie-duckie date nights coming soon! Qua qua qua-qua quack!

  13. Anonymous permalink
    November 15, 2020 11:40 pm

    Come on home Darling Donnie. For me you are a Super-Dotard! I’m crying ’cause I miss you so much. Qua, qua, qua, qua….

  14. Nikki Haley permalink
    November 15, 2020 11:42 pm

    Come on home Darling Donnie. For me you are a Super-Dotard! I’m crying ’cause I miss you so much. Qua, qua, qua, qua….

  15. Dotard Trump permalink
    November 29, 2020 11:05 pm

    Since you are a LOSER, and a QUITTER, don’t call me Super-Dotard!

  16. Nikki Haley permalink
    November 29, 2020 11:08 pm

    Sorry, Mr. President. Best wishes.

  17. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 3, 2020 12:45 pm

    I must confess, I’m still thinkin’ ’bout you, my DARLING dotard. (Super darling, cutie dotard.) Nikki

  18. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 13, 2020 1:32 am

    Sweetheart, please forgive. Call me one more time. Pleeeeeeeeeeease! Nikki

  19. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 18, 2020 4:53 pm

    Boo-hoo, I’m missing you. Call me. Nikki

  20. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 18, 2020 4:55 pm

    I take that back… LOSER!

  21. Nikki Haley permalink
    January 6, 2021 12:06 am

    Please forgive my mistake. You’re not a tiger, even a dotard, you are a PUSSY.

    • Dotard Trump permalink
      January 9, 2021 9:14 pm

      Nikki. Give me a call. I LOVE YOU just like all those cuckoos who were running around DC on Wednesday. DT

  22. Dotard Trump permalink
    January 22, 2021 8:30 pm

    If you don’t call me now Nikki. You will never be anyone WITHOUT ME!

  23. Nikki Haley permalink
    February 12, 2021 2:27 pm

    Donny, I am DISGUSTED. You are not GOING TO BE IN THE PICTURE. You’ve FALLEN SO FAR. For everyone who want to her from me: WE SHOULDN’T HAVE LISTENED TO HIM!

    But you really are still my favorite Dotard! Cubbie-duckie nights coming soon!

  24. Dotard Trump permalink
    May 1, 2021 3:19 pm

    Nikki Baby – TRUMP 2024 already is a winner. Should I pardon Matt Gaetz?

    What I really wanna say: Melania Trump doesn’t really exist, already gone – and I need a winner who will happily join a WINNER like me.

    LOSERS:Matt Gaetz, Melania Trump
    WINNERS: Donald Trump, Nikki Haley

    So do yourself a favor – gimme a call!

  25. Anonymous permalink
    July 30, 2021 8:38 pm

    Nikki – like you said in February: YOU ARE D I S G U S T I N G!

  26. Dotard Trump permalink
    July 30, 2021 8:40 pm

    Nikki – like you said in February: YOU ARE D I S G U S T I N G!

  27. Dotard Trump permalink
    July 30, 2021 8:43 pm

    Nikki I wanna repeat something you said: “YOU ARE D I S G U S T I N G!”

    • Nikki Haley permalink
      December 4, 2021 3:38 pm

      Dotie Donnie, my favorite dotard you still are! You like disgusting, I know that too. Nikki H.

  28. Dotard Trump permalink
    February 8, 2022 10:49 pm

    Nikki baby. Yes, I’m your favorite Dotie. That’s what you need, and that’s what I gonna be. Call me up my lil disguster. Dotie T

  29. Dotard Trump permalink
    March 21, 2022 9:42 pm

    Damn you Nikki. I’m gonna send you to Ukraine while I visit Russia. Hot idea, grrrrrr…

  30. Anonymous permalink
    March 21, 2022 9:44 pm

    More quacking on quackhouse.com.

  31. May 11, 2022 7:09 pm

    I can fill you in Nikki-Lou: Your name is short for NIKKI-LOSER!

  32. September 19, 2022 6:07 pm

    Dotie Donnie: You’re growing up, but this campaign act is REALLY old. I hope I inspired you last night to become my TEENY hero again.

  33. Nikki Haley permalink
    October 3, 2022 6:39 pm

    Darling Donny Dotie… I really need my TEENY WEENY tiger…

  34. Nikki Haley permalink
    October 28, 2022 3:58 pm

    You can’t win without me, DD Dotie. And you Lil Duckie really needs you, so quack-quack call me!

  35. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 31, 2022 8:05 pm

    Dotie… Dotie… Darline Dotie Donnie… You’re still my favorite and I’m still your Lil Duckie.

  36. Nikki Haley permalink
    December 31, 2022 8:07 pm

    Quack-quack. Boo-hoo. Donnie, call me!

  37. Dotard Trump permalink
    January 29, 2023 11:16 pm

    Now whaddya think Nikki-Lou? Who’s more manly than you? I mean, me. You need me Nikki-Loser.

  38. Dotard Trump permalink
    May 31, 2023 5:39 pm

    Maybe you and E. Jean Carroll should date, the new Loser Couple. Then I can defame you both at the same time!

  39. Nikki Haley permalink
    August 25, 2023 8:20 pm

    My little dotard is also HOT MUG Donnie! Let me be prez, and me and Vlad and Ol’ Il can make you WORLD EMPEROR!

  40. Anonymous permalink
    October 13, 2023 6:52 pm

    Nikki-baby, you from Gaza, aren’t you? I’m afraid Netanya-blewit is gonna criticize me becasue I was was honest about him. Can you help me over there somehow? MBS tells me not to worry.

    • Dotard Trump permalink
      October 13, 2023 6:54 pm

      Nikki-baby, you from Gaza, aren’t you? I’m afraid Netanya-blewit is gonna criticize me becasue I was was honest about him. Can you help me over there somehow? MBS tells me not to worry.

  41. Nikki Haley permalink
    November 22, 2023 3:54 pm

    Dotie:

    Me-you, trim-chubby, young-old, smart-dummy.

    Nikki

    • Dotard Trump permalink
      November 22, 2023 4:58 pm

      You’re special, but listen baby. I’ll always have lovers.

      At home, at work, in the White House, even if I’m in jail!

      • Anonymous permalink
        May 5, 2024 7:54 pm

        ========Anonymous:========

        More quacking on quackhouse.com.

      • Anonymous permalink
        May 5, 2024 7:58 pm

        ==========Dotard Trump:==========

        Dear “Anonymous” Nikki. I already know you.

        I don’ care if I go to jail. I’ll still be the greatest president. I don’t care if anyone votes – it’s all fake. I’m just gonna be president. That’s it!

      • Anonymous permalink
        May 5, 2024 7:59 pm

        ==========Nikki Haley:==========

      • Anonymous permalink
        May 5, 2024 8:01 pm

        ==========Nikki Haley:==========

        Donny Baby: You’re almost a real man. Just a few days in jail, and then you are the real thing!

  42. Anonymous permalink
    March 20, 2024 10:50 pm

    Dear Dotie Donnie:

    You’re my still my fave, an heroic fail;
    And when I’m prez, I’ll get you outta jail.

    But,

    My hubby wants to kick your ass,
    ’cause you’re so very, very crass.

    Nikki

Trackbacks

  1. Union leader says Trump lied about Carrier deal | News4Security
  2. Nikki Haley asks and answers: “Is it worth all this?” – Tina's History Blog
  3. 2018 American of the Year: Nikki Haley | MATT VEASEY
  4. Nikki Haley is expected to announce her 2024 run for president. Meet her family. - iNFO Vi
  5. Nikki Haley Is Expected To Announce Her 2024 Run For President. Meet Her Family. - USFINANCE MARKET
  6. Nikki Haley is expected to announce her 2024 run for president. Meet her family. - Minnesota Business Insights
  7. Nikki Haley is expected to announce her 2024 run for president. Meet her family. - BIHAR DELEGATION
  8. Nikki Haley is anticipated to announce her 2024 presidential candidacy. Meet her household. - Newideablog
  9. Nikki Haley is running for president in 2024. Meet her family. - iNFO Vi
  10. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley - Ivu News
  11. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley - iNFO Vi
  12. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley - Newsbrella - Curated News
  13. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley | FREE the WORDS
  14. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley – ApróHirdetések
  15. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley – My blog
  16. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley – Welcome to Mom Confessions News and Politics
  17. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley | BuzzJour
  18. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley - POLITICO
  19. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley - All Pakeges
  20. 55 Things You Need to Know About Nikki Haley – my24group
  21. Nikki Haley's husband, Michael, will soon begin a yearlong deployment in Africa with the National Guard. Meet their family. - Minnesota Business Insights
  22. Why Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy have these 2024 voters 'really happy' - Washington Dailies
  23. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter
  24. Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 - Tech Times
  25. Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 - planetcirculate
  26. Why Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy have these 2024 voters ‘really happy’ – USA TODAY | The News Able
  27. Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 - galaxyconcerns
  28. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 - MyPressCity
  29. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 | Justrends
  30. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 – Revue de Presse
  31. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian-American voters in 2024 - New On News
  32. Why Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy have these 2024 voters 'really happy' - Daily Hindustan News - Current & Breaking News | National & World News
  33. Why Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy have these 2024 voters ‘really happy’ – TrendingNewz24
  34. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian American voters in 2024 – Revue de Presse
  35. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian American voters in 2024 - iNFO Vi
  36. Why Nikki Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy have these 2024 voters ‘really happy’ – News 24 One
  37. 'I'm one of you': Why Nikki Haley and Vivek Ramaswamy matter to Indian American voters in 2024 - usnewscast - usa news casting - us news - news cast
  38. Потрясающая трансформация Никки Хейли - nachedeucom
  39. Die atemberaubende Verwandlung von Nikki Haley - Germanic Nachrichten
  40. ニッキー・ヘイリーの驚くべき変身 - Nipponese
  41. निक्की हेली का आश्चर्यजनक परिवर्तन - News Archyuk
  42. When Her Family Needed Money, Nikki Haley Found A Lucrative Path » Bluebellus
  43. When her family needed money, Nikki Haley found a lucrative path – My Press
  44. Nikki Haley called Donald Trump's comments about her husband's military service 'disgusting.' Meet the Haley family. - Minnesota Business Insights
  45. Nikki Haley called Donald Trump’s comments about her husband’s military service ‘disgusting.’ Meet the Haley family. – DIGIWIZ CENTRAL

Leave a comment